Latest NewsTransplant, Scarborough lead final night of Canadian Screen Award winners

Transplant, Scarborough lead final night of Canadian Screen Award winners

The 2022 Canadian Screen Awards wrapped up Sunday evening with the broadcast portion of the awards televised on CBC and CBC Gem.

CTV’s Transplant won Best Drama Series, with leads Laurence LeBoeuf and Hamza Haq claiming Best Lead Actress and Actor, Drama Series. Best Lead Actor and Actress, Comedy went to Kim’s Convenience stars Paul Sun-Hyung Lee and Jean Yoon, respectively, while Sort Of captured Best Comedy Series. Transplant closes this year’s awards program, leading television honours with eight Canadian Screen Awards.

Scarborough won the Best Motion Picture honour, with Liam Diaz securing the award for Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role, and Shasha Nakhai and Rich Williamson winning Achievement in Direction.

The film, based on the Catherine Hernandez novel, closes Canadian Screen Week with eight awards, including Best Adapted Screenplay at Friday’s Cinematic Arts awards, in addition to Best First Feature Film, Achievement in Casting, Sound Editing, and a Best Supporting Actress nod for Cherish Violet Blood.

Find the complete list of Sunday’s winners here:

Best Lead Actor, Comedy

Paul Sun-Hyung Lee, Kim’s Convenience


(Thunderbird Entertainment)

Best Lead Actress, Comedy

Jean Yoon

Jean Yoon, Kim’s Convenience


(Thunderbird Entertainment)

Best Comedy Series

Sort Of


(Sienna Films)

Bilal Baig, Fab Filippo, Jennifer Kawaja, Julia Sereny, Bruno Dube

Radius Award, presented by MADE | NOUS

Maitreyi Ramakrishnan

Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

Liam Diaz, Scarborough

Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers, Night Raiders

Lifetime Achievement Award

Bob Cole

Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary

Elle-Maija Tailfeathers

Kímmapiiyipitssini: The Meaning of Empathy

Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers, David Christensen, Lori Lozinski

Changemaker Awards

Amanda Parris, Kayla Grey, Kathleen Newman-Bremang

Best Host or Presenter, Factual or Reality/Competition

Brooke Lynn Hytes, Traci Melchor, Amanda Brugel, Brad Goreski, Canada’s Drag Race

Crave (Bell Media)

(Saloon Media / Blue Ant Studios)

Best Lead Actress, Drama Series

Laurence LeBoeuf, Transplant

CTV (Bell Media)

(Sphere Media)

Best Lead Actor, Drama Series

Hamza Haq, Transplant

CTV (Bell Media)

(Sphere Media)

Best Drama Series


CTV (Bell Media)

(Sphere Media)

Jocelyn Deschenes, Bruno Dube, Joseph Kay, Tara Woodbury, Virginia Rankin, Josee Vallee, Stefan Pleszyczynski, Adam Barken

Achievement in Direction

Shasha Nakhai, Rich Williamson, Scarborough

Gordon Sinclair Award for Broadcast Journalism

Rassi Nashalik

Cogeco Fund Audience Award

Wyonna Earp

CTV Sci Fi Channel (Bell Media)

(SEVEN24 Films / Cineflix Studios)

Best Motion Picture

Scarborough – Shasha Nakai

Subscribe Now – Free!

Broadcast Dialogue has been required reading in the Canadian broadcast media for 30 years. When you subscribe, you join a community of connected professionals from media and broadcast related sectors from across the country.

The Weekly Briefing from Broadcast Dialogue is delivered exclusively to subscribers by email every Thursday. It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Let’s get started right now.

* indicates required



Connie Thiessen
Connie Thiessen
Connie has worked coast-to-coast as a reporter, editor, anchor and host at CKNW and News 1130 in Vancouver, News 95.7 and CBC in Halifax, and CFCW Edmonton, among other stations. With a passion for music, film and community service, she led News 95.7 to a 2013 Atlantic Journalism Award and regional RTDNA award for Best Radio Newscast. More recently, she was nominated for Music Journalist of the Year at Canadian Music Week 2019. To report a typo or error please email -

The Weekly Briefing - Subscribe Now – Free!

It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Events / Conferences