Schitt’s Creek leads Canadian Screen Award nominations

Schitt's Creek leads the 2020 Canadian Screen Award nominations with 26, including Best Lead Actor, Comedy nominations for Eugene Levy and Dan Levy, and Best Lead Actress, Comedy nods for Annie Murphy and Catherine O'Hara.

Schitt’s Creek leads this year’s Canadian Screen Award nominations with 26 nods, including Best Comedy Series; Best Writing, Comedy; and Best Direction, Comedy, as well as multiple acting nominations for Best Lead Actor, Comedy; Best Lead Actress, Comedy; Best Supporting Actress, Comedy; and Best Supporting Actor, Comedy.

The nominees were announced today in 141 film, television, and digital media categories by the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television.

Alongside Schitt’s Creek, Letterkenny, JANN, Kim’s Convenience, and Workin’ Moms are nominated for Best Comedy Series, while Anne With an E, Cardinal, Coroner, Mary Kills People, and Vikings are up for Best Drama Series.

Best News and Information Series nominees include APTN Investigates, CBC News: Marketplace, The Fifth Estate, and W5.

Leading the film categories, François Girard’s The Song of Names received nine nominations in total, including Achievement in Art Direction/Production Design, Achievement in Costume Design, and Achievement in Visual Effects. The Song of Names was absent from the Best Motion Picture nominees, which include Matthew Rankin’s The Twentieth Century, The Body Remembers When The World Broke Open (Kathleen Hepburn, Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers), Sophie Deraspe’s Antigone, White Lie (Yonah Lewis, Calvin Thomas), and Anne at 13,000 FT, directed by Kazik Radwanski. The directors of all five films also earned Achievement in Direction nominations.

CBC Gem offerings dominate the Digital Media categories with its web series Detention Adventure, How To Buy A Baby, Calgary-based hip-hop series Ming’s Dynasty, comedy-drama Save Me, and The 410 receiving nominations for Best Web Program or Series, Fiction. 

Find the full list of nominations here.

The 2020 nominations were chosen by nominating juries and members of the Canadian Academy, with Canadian filmmaker Deepa Mehta serving as chair of the film jury alongside representatives from production, acting, and media industries. The membership will place their votes between Feb. 18 and Mar. 6 to determine the winners.

The Awards will be presented in Toronto over five days during Canadian Screen Week, including the Canadian Screen Awards Broadcast Gala, which airs live on CBC and the CBC Gem streaming service on Sunday, Mar. 29 at 8 p.m. (9 p.m. AT/9:30 p.m. NT).

Subscribe Now – Free!

Broadcast Dialogue has been required reading in the Canadian broadcast media for 25 years. When you subscribe, you join a community of connected professionals from media and broadcast related sectors from across the country.

The Weekly Briefing from Broadcast Dialogue is delivered exclusively to subscribers by email every Thursday. It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Let’s get started right now.

* indicates required