Marilyn Denis, Catherine Tait among WIFT Toronto Crystal Awards honourees

CHUM 104.5 morning show co-host and media personality Marilyn Denis, CBC/Radio-Canada President Catherine Tait, and Directors Guild of Canada (DGC) Ontario Executive Director Victoria Harding are among this year’s WIFT (Women in Film + Television) Toronto Crystal Awards honourees.

Established in 1988, the Crystal Awards are an annual tribute to those making significant contributions to Canada’s screen-based media industry, recognizing creativity, innovation, leadership, and a commitment to mentoring the next generation of industry creators and leaders.

Catherine Tait

Denis will be honoured with the Creative Excellence Award, while Tait will receive the Jury Award of Distinction. Harding will be recognized for Outstanding Achievement in Business.

Actress Missy Peregrym, known for her roles on ABC/Global’s Rookie Blue and CBS’ FBI, will receive the International Achievement honour.

Neishaw Ali, Founding Partner, President, and Executive Producer, at Toronto and Atlanta-based visual effects studio, SPIN VFX, is this year’s Innovation Trailblazer.

Margot Daley

Toronto-based unscripted television producer and director Margot Daley will be recognized in the Mentorship category.

The winners will be recognized at a gala luncheon on Nov. 22 at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel.




Subscribe Now – Free!

Broadcast Dialogue has been required reading in the Canadian broadcast media for 30 years. When you subscribe, you join a community of connected professionals from media and broadcast related sectors from across the country.

The Weekly Briefing from Broadcast Dialogue is delivered exclusively to subscribers by email every Thursday. It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Let’s get started right now.

* indicates required


Connie Thiessen
Connie Thiessen
Connie has worked coast-to-coast as a reporter, editor, anchor and host at CKNW and News 1130 in Vancouver, News 95.7 and CBC in Halifax, and CFCW Edmonton, among other stations. With a passion for music, film and community service, she led News 95.7 to a 2013 Atlantic Journalism Award and regional RTDNA award for Best Radio Newscast. More recently, she was nominated for Music Journalist of the Year at Canadian Music Week 2019. To report a typo or error please email -

The Weekly Briefing - Subscribe Now – Free!

It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Events / Conferences