Latest NewsCMPA announces 2019 Indiescreen Awards nominees

CMPA announces 2019 Indiescreen Awards nominees

The Canadian Media Producers Association (CMPA) has unveiled the nominees for this year’s Indiescreen Awards. The annual awards honour a veteran independent producer who has made significant contributions to Canada’s film production sector, in addition to an up-and-coming producer whose early work embodies the next generation of Canadian filmmaking.

The 2019 Indiescreen Awards nominees are:

Established Producer Award

Christine Piovesan

Christina Piovesan, First Generation Films (American Woman)

Félize Frappier, Max Films Media (Kuessipan)

Jessica Adams, JA Productions (Tammy’s Always Dying)

Judy Holm, Markham Street Films (Level 16)

Lori Lozinski, Violator Films (The Body Remembers When the World Broke Open)


Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award

Julie Strifler

Julie Strifler, Endgame Films (Easy Land)
Katie Bird Nolan & Lindsay Tapscott, Babe Nation Films (The Rest of Us)
Kevin Krikst & Fraser Ash, Rhombus Media (Clifton Hill)
Lana Belle Mauro, Shed Creative (Once Were Brothers: Robbie Robertson and The Band)
Sara Blake, Ceroma Films (Raf)

“For more than a decade, the Indiescreen Awards has established a strong reputation for recognizing some of our country’s most talented and innovative independent producers,” said Reynolds Mastin, CMPA President and CEO. “Looking at this year’s incredible roster of nominees, it’s clear that this exceptional track-record lives on.”

Both winners will be revealed at the CMPA Indiescreen Awards reception Sept. 5, as part of the opening day of the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF).

For the first time this year, the CMPA expanded Indiescreen Awards nominee eligibility. In addition to TIFF, applications were open to producers with films screening at the Calgary International Film Festival, FIN: Atlantic International Film Festival, and the Vancouver International Film Festival (VIFF).

The winner of the Established Producer Award receives $10,000 and the winner of the Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award $5,000. Winners are selected by two national juries, each consisting of five industry leaders.

Subscribe Now – Free!

Broadcast Dialogue has been required reading in the Canadian broadcast media for 25 years. When you subscribe, you join a community of connected professionals from media and broadcast related sectors from across the country.

The Weekly Briefing from Broadcast Dialogue is delivered exclusively to subscribers by email every Thursday. It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Let’s get started right now.

Connie Thiessen
Connie Thiessen
Connie has worked coast-to-coast as a reporter, editor, anchor and host at CKNW and News 1130 in Vancouver, News 95.7 and CBC in Halifax, and CFCW Edmonton, among other stations. With a passion for music, film and community service, she led News 95.7 to a 2013 Atlantic Journalism Award and regional RTDNA award for Best Radio Newscast. More recently, she was nominated for Music Journalist of the Year at Canadian Music Week 2019. To report a typo or error please email -

The Weekly Briefing - Subscribe Now – Free!

It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Events / Conferences