General + Regulatory + Telecom + Media NewsCBC/Radio-Canada board appointment advisory committee reformed

CBC/Radio-Canada board appointment advisory committee reformed

Canadian Heritage Min. Pablo Rodriguez has announced a newly-reconstituted independent advisory committee that will recommend candidates to serve on the CBC/Radio-Canada Board of Directors.

In a statement issued late Wednesday, Rodriguez said the government is committed to ensuring that the process is “independent, merit-based and results in the recommendation of high-quality candidates” as some current board members near the end of their mandate.

The new non-partisan body is tasked with conducting a selection process for Governor in Council appointments and providing Rodriguez with recommendations “of highly qualified candidates that respect gender parity and truly reflect Canada’s diversity,” according to the Canadian Heritage release.

The members of the advisory committee include:

  • Charles DécarieQuebec (Chairperson), President and Chief Executive Officer, Just For Laughs 
  • Paul AndrewNorthwest Territories, retired, CBC North
  • Cameron BaileyOntario, CEO of TIFF
  • Françoise EnguehardNewfoundland and Labrador, former Radio-Canada journalist, current columnist for L’Acadie Nouvelle, owner VIVAT Communications
  • Jocelyn FormsmaOntario, Executive Director of the National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC), APTN board member
  • Prem GillBritish Columbia, CEO of Creative BC
  • Michael GoldbloomQuebec, former publisher, Montreal Gazette, Toronto Star
  • Lisa Raitt, Ontario, former Conservative cabinet minister and Member of Parliament for Halton
  • Monique SimardQuebec, former producer and current Chair of the Fonds Québecor, Partenariat du Quartier des spectacles, Vitrine culturelle du Québec
  • Jeremy TorrieManitoba, Ojibwe director/producer

Under the Broadcasting Act, the CBC/Radio–Canada Board of Directors is composed of 12 directors including a Chairperson and President/Chief Executive Officer. Appointed by the Governor in Council, they each serve a maximum five-year term.

As they become available, all appointment opportunities within the 16 organizations under the Canadian Heritage umbrella are posted on the Governor in Council Appointments website. Those interested can apply online.

Subscribe Now – Free!

Broadcast Dialogue has been required reading in the Canadian broadcast media for 30 years. When you subscribe, you join a community of connected professionals from media and broadcast related sectors from across the country.

The Weekly Briefing from Broadcast Dialogue is delivered exclusively to subscribers by email every Thursday. It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Let’s get started right now.

* indicates required


Connie Thiessen
Connie Thiessen
Connie has worked coast-to-coast as a reporter, editor, anchor and host at CKNW and News 1130 in Vancouver, News 95.7 and CBC in Halifax, and CFCW Edmonton, among other stations. With a passion for music, film and community service, she led News 95.7 to a 2013 Atlantic Journalism Award and regional RTDNA award for Best Radio Newscast. More recently, she was nominated for Music Journalist of the Year at Canadian Music Week 2019. To report a typo or error please email -

The Weekly Briefing - Subscribe Now – Free!

It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Events / Conferences