Latest NewsCanadian Screen Awards winners: News, Entertainment & Sports

Canadian Screen Awards winners: News, Entertainment & Sports

The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television handed out the 2024 Canadian Screen Awards for News, Entertainment, and Sports on Tuesday evening at the CBC Broadcast Centre in Toronto.

Multiple award winners included CBC’s The National, which saw Jorge Barrera capture Best National Reporter and Adrienne Arsenault named Best News Anchor, National, with CBC News: Adrienne Arsenault Reports: Inside Ukraine winning Best News or Information Program. CTV National News with Omar Sachedina won Best National Newscast.

Debra Arbec from CBC Montreal News at 6 secured the Best News Anchor, Local award, while Bartley Kives from CBC Winnipeg picked up Best Local Reporter. Best Local Newscast went to CBC Vancouver News at 6.

APTN Investigates, W5, and ET Canada – which was cancelled by Global last fall – all picked up two awards apiece, as did TSN’s 2022 Grey Cup coverage.

The evening’s special award recipient was longtime foreign correspondent Paul Workman, who was recognized with the Gordon Sinclair Award for Broadcast Journalism, presented by Lisa LaFlamme.

Find the full list of winners here:

Best Sports Host

CFL Touchdown Atlantic
TSN (Bell Media)

Kate Beirness

Best Sports Program or Series

Serge Ibaka’s How Hungry Are You?: Giannis Antetokounmpo

Sportsnet (Rogers Sports & Media)

Serge Ibaka, Jordi Vilà Sánchez, Paul Sidhu, Mark Wade, Michael Adach, Devon Burns

Best Sports Feature Segment

For All of Us

TSN (Bell Media)

Rob Dunn, Jacob Frenkel, Michael Banani, Vince Tremblay, Mike McKay, Cedrik Dessureault 

Best Sports Opening

2022 Grey Cup

TSN (Bell Media)

Matt Dorman, Darren Oliver, Devon Burns, Steve Denheyer, Richard Liani

Best News Anchor, Local

CBC Montreal News at 6

Debra Arbec

Best Local Newscast

CBC Vancouver News at 6

Best Local Reporter

Bartley Kives

CBC Winnipeg News at Six

Bartley Kives

Best Live News Special

Decision Alberta 2023

Global (Corus Entertainment)

Best Photography, News or Information

APTN InvestigatesReawakening the Mountains

Rob Smith

Best Host or Interviewer, News or Information

VeraCity: Indigiqueer

Citytv (Rogers Sports & Media)

(Wookey Films Inc.)

Sarain Fox

Best Variety or Entertainment Special

This Hour Has 22 Minutes: This Special Has 30 Years


(22M-Hour Productions (NS) 30 Inc.)

Matt Charlton, Mike Allison, Michael Donovan, Meaghan Clark, Carl Gosine, Tracey Jardine, Dana Landry

Best Entertainment News Program or Series

Entertainment Tonight Canada

Global (Corus Entertainment)

Best Web Program or Series, Non-Fiction

Here & Queer


Peter Knegt, Lucius Dechausay, Mercedes Grundy, Chelle Turingan

Best Host, Web Program or Series

County Blooms

(JPO & Co Entertainment Inc, Federgreen Entertainment)

Jen Pogue

Gordon Sinclair Award for Broadcast Journalism

Paul Workman

Best Political News Program or Series

CTV’s Power Play with Vassy Kapelos

CTV News (Bell Media)

Best News or Information Series

APTN Investigates


Best News or Information Program

CBC News: Adrienne Arsenault Reports: Inside Ukraine


Best News or Information Segment

W5Narco Avocados

CTV (Bell Media)

Best Direction, Live Sports Event

2023 Stanley Cup Final Game 5

Sportsnet (Rogers Sports & Media)

Ron Forsythe

Best Live Sports Event

2022 Grey Cup

TSN (Bell Media)

Paul Graham, Jon Hynes


2023 IIHF World Junior Gold Medal Game

TSN (Bell Media)

Paul Graham, Chris Edwards

Best Sports Play-by-Play Announcer

CBC Sports Presents

Rob Snoek

Best Sports Analyst

Hockey Night in Canada

Sportsnet (Rogers Sports & Media)

Kevin Bieksa

Best Host, Live Entertainment Special

The 2023 JUNO Awards

(Insight Productions LTD)

Simu Liu

Best Live Entertainment Special

The Legacy Awards 2023


(Insight Productions LTD)

Shamier Anderson, Stephan James, Lindsay Cox, Shannon Farr, John Brunton, Daniel Abrams, Jordan Rudder, Andre Williamson, Ian Steaman, Mazin Elsadig, Fatuma Adar, Jemeni G, Tanisha Scott

Best Live Production, Social Media

ET Canada Live

(Corus Entertainment)

John Kampilis, Laura Carroll, Bob Pagrach, Fay Philavanh, Katie Colley

Best National Reporter

CBC News: The National


Jorge Barrera

Best News Anchor, National

CBC News: The National


Adrienne Arsenault

Best National Newscast

Omar Sachedina

CTV National News with Omar Sachedina

CTV News (Bell Media)

The Canadian Academy will present the Television Craft and Television Program and Performance Awards on Wednesday.

The Documentary, Factual, Lifestyle & Reality Awards, and Cinematic Arts Awards will follow on Thursday, followed by the televised Canadian Screen Awards gala on Friday set to air on CBC and CBC Gem at 8 p.m. local time, 9 p.m. AT, 9:30 p.m. NL.


Subscribe Now – Free!

Broadcast Dialogue has been required reading in the Canadian broadcast media for 30 years. When you subscribe, you join a community of connected professionals from media and broadcast related sectors from across the country.

The Weekly Briefing from Broadcast Dialogue is delivered exclusively to subscribers by email every Thursday. It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Let’s get started right now.

* indicates required


Connie Thiessen
Connie Thiessen
Connie has worked coast-to-coast as a reporter, editor, anchor and host at CKNW and News 1130 in Vancouver, News 95.7 and CBC in Halifax, and CFCW Edmonton, among other stations. With a passion for music, film and community service, she led News 95.7 to a 2013 Atlantic Journalism Award and regional RTDNA award for Best Radio Newscast. More recently, she was nominated for Music Journalist of the Year at Canadian Music Week 2019. To report a typo or error please email -

The Weekly Briefing - Subscribe Now – Free!

It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Events / Conferences