Latest NewsCanadian Screen Awards winners: Cinematic Arts

Canadian Screen Awards winners: Cinematic Arts

The 2024 Canadian Screen Award winners from the Cinematic Arts categories were announced Thursday evening.

BlackBerry, which headed into the awards as the most-nominated film in CSA history, swept the evening with 11 wins, including Achievement in Casting, Make-up, hair, Costume Design, Editing, and Cinematography.

Other multiple award winners included Brandon Cronenberg’s sci-fi horro Infinity Pool, Jasmin Mozaffari live action short drama Motherland, and feature length documentary The Longest Goodbye.

The evening also celebrated a pair of Special Award recipients. Late filmmaker Jeff Barnaby was posthumously honoured with The Academy Board of Directors Tribute Award, which was accepted by his wife and son on his behalf. Quebec actor Patrick Huard, recipient of the Earle Grey Award, was also recognized.

Find the full list of winners here:

Performance in a Supporting Role, Drama 

Chantal ThuyRu

Achievement in Casting

Pam Dixon, Sara Kay, Jenny LewisBlackBerry

Achievement in Make-Up

Dan Martin, Traci Loader, Svetlana GuticInfinity Pool

Achievement in Hair 

Dylan Twigg, Philippe Bertrand-HudonBlackBerry 

Achievement in Costume Design 

Hanna PuleyBlackBerry

Achievement in Sound Mixing 

Matthew Chan, Bret Killoran, Nathan Street, Paul Lynch, Randy Wilson, Ron Mellegers, Justin HelleBlackBerry

Achievement in Sound Editing 

Matthew Chan, Gabe Knox, Michelle Irving, Lucas Prokaziuk, Stefan Fraticelli, Jason CharbonneauBlackBerry

Achievement in Editing 

Curt LobbBlackBerry

Achievement in Visual Effects

Andy RobinsonInfinity Pool

Achievement in Art Direction / Production Design 

Adam Belanger, Kerry Noonan, Lucy LarkinBlackBerry

Best Animated Short 

Where Rabbits Come From | D’où viennent les lapinsColin Ludvic Racicot, Bertrand Paquette, Simon Allard

Best Short Documentary

MadeleineRaquel Sancinetti

Best Live Action Short Drama 

MotherlandJasmin Mozaffari, Caitlin Grabham, Priscilla Galvez

Performance in a Live Action Short Drama

Behtash FazlaliMotherland

Best Immersive Experience – Non-Fiction

This Is Not a Ceremony

(National Film Board of Canada)

Ahnahktsipiitaa (Colin Van Loon), Dana Dansereau, Robert McLaughlin

Best Immersive Experience – Fiction

Survivorman VR

(Cream Productions and Les Stroud Enterprises Inc.)

David Brady, Andrew MacDonald, Les Stroud, Kate Harrison Karman, Johnny Kalangis, Irene Vandertop

Best Cinematography in a Feature Length Documentary

Kaveh NabatianKite Zo A: Leave the Bones

Best Editing in a Feature Length Documentary 

Anouk DeschênesThe Longest Goodbye

Best Original Music in a Feature Length Documentary

Ramachandra BorcarThe Longest Goodbye

Best Sound Design in a Feature Length Documentary 

Sam Rodgers, James Lazarenko, Claire Dobson, Krystin Hunter, Graham Rogers, Jane Tattersall, Stefana Fratila, Paul Germann, Steve Medeiros, Marilee Yorston, Steve Hammond, David Yonson, Steve CopleySwan Song

Achievement in Music – Original Score

Jay McCarrolBlackBerry

Achievement in Music – Original Song 

Qurram HussainThe Queen Of My Dreams – “Ishq Ki Na Koi Bhi Hud Hai”

Original Screenplay

Ariane Louis-Seize, Christine DoyonHumanist Vampire Seeking Consenting Suicidal Person | Vampire humaniste cherche suicidaire consentant

Adapted Screenplay 

Matt Johnson, Matthew MillerBlackBerry

Golden Screen Award for Feature Film

PAW Patrol: The Mighty Movie Jennifer Dodge, Laura Clunie, Toni Stevens

John Dunning Best First Feature Film Award

In FlamesZarrar Kahn

Achievement in Cinematography

Jared RaabBlackBerry

Performance in a Supporting Role, Comedy 

Glenn HowertonBlackBerry

Subscribe Now – Free!

Broadcast Dialogue has been required reading in the Canadian broadcast media for 30 years. When you subscribe, you join a community of connected professionals from media and broadcast related sectors from across the country.

The Weekly Briefing from Broadcast Dialogue is delivered exclusively to subscribers by email every Thursday. It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Let’s get started right now.

* indicates required


Connie Thiessen
Connie Thiessen
Connie has worked coast-to-coast as a reporter, editor, anchor and host at CKNW and News 1130 in Vancouver, News 95.7 and CBC in Halifax, and CFCW Edmonton, among other stations. With a passion for music, film and community service, she led News 95.7 to a 2013 Atlantic Journalism Award and regional RTDNA award for Best Radio Newscast. More recently, she was nominated for Music Journalist of the Year at Canadian Music Week 2019. To report a typo or error please email -

The Weekly Briefing - Subscribe Now – Free!

It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Events / Conferences