Latest NewsBrad Karp named Allan Waters Young Broadcaster of the Year

Brad Karp named Allan Waters Young Broadcaster of the Year

Brad Karp, the morning show host at Rogers’ Country 93.3 (CJOK-FM) Fort McMurray, is the 2019 recipient of the Allan Waters Young Broadcaster of the Year Award, in memory of Steve Young.

Karp first got his feet wet in radio as a street team member for the Astral Media cluster in Montreal in 2009. He eventually landed in the Algonquin College Radio Broadcasting program and then CKDJ-FM Ottawa. From there, he did a short stint with Arctic Radio as news and sports director for 610 CHTM Thomspon and CJ1240 (CJAR-AM) The Pas, where he also did play-by-play for the OCN Blizzard, the local Manitoba Junior Hockey League team.

Karp arrived in Fort McMurray in Dec. 2014, starting out as the afternoon news anchor and reporter for Country 93.3 & ROCK 97.9 (CKYX-FM), in addition to handling play-by-play for Fort McMurray Oil Barons (AJHL) games. He’s been host of the Country 93.3 morning show for the past two years.

At age 28, Karp has already been named one of Fort McMurray’s Top 50 Under 50, and in 2018 was awarded the Western Association of Broadcasters’ ‘Leader Of Tomorrow’ distinction, in addition to being named the ‘Ted Rogers Award Winner’ last year for his work during the Fort McMurray wildfires.

Karp was the first person called following the Humboldt Broncos tragedy when a voice was needed to call the Broncos/Grande Prairie Storm game in Peace River, which was acknowledged by Rogers’ President & CEO Joe Natale.

His volunteer efforts include the Miracle Marathon Toy & Cash drive for Santa’s Anonymous, the Wood Buffalo Food Bank Corporate Challenge & Food Drive, the Fort McMurray SPCA, and the Wood Buffalo chapter of KidSport, for which he’s raised $10,000.

Karp was nominated by J.C. Coutts, PD at Rogers’ 92.7 Rock (CJRQ-FM) Sudbury. A fellow Algonquin College alum, Coutts was previously with the Rogers stations in Grande Prairie and the one who tapped him to step in to do play-by-play in the wake of the Humboldt tragedy.

“You look at the people that have won the award in the past –  Ruby Carr, Rena Jae, Jesse Modz…these are heavyweights, and to think my name is on that list blows my mind,” Karp told Broadcast Dialogue.

Karp says his career goal is to do major market mornings, but Fort McMurray has become like home.

“I’m a heart and soul guy and I love it here…the people here are special. I left for eight months to do TV in Edmonton and as soon as the morning show opportunity came up, I came back. I’m open to everything, but it will tough to leave,” said Karp.

“I owe thanks to Julie Adam, Paul Kaye, Peter McKeown, and John Knox – who hired me twice – as well as Stu McIntosh, my current PD, and the entire team in Fort McMurray. It’s nice to work with and for people who are willing to let you fail in your attempt to succeed. It’s been a good ride with Rogers the last four and half years.”

Karp will be recognized at the Industry Award dinner during Canadian Music Week in Toronto on May 9 and will be presented with his award during the Programming 2020 Masterclass panel earlier in the day.

This year’s runners up were Rachel Ettinger of Virgin Radio (CIQM-FM) London, and Lauren Hunter of SONiC 102.9 (CHDI-FM) Edmonton.

Subscribe Now – Free!

Broadcast Dialogue has been required reading in the Canadian broadcast media for 25 years. When you subscribe, you join a community of connected professionals from media and broadcast related sectors from across the country.

The Weekly Briefing from Broadcast Dialogue is delivered exclusively to subscribers by email every Thursday. It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Let’s get started right now.

Connie Thiessen
Connie Thiessen
Connie has worked coast-to-coast as a reporter, editor, anchor and host at CKNW and News 1130 in Vancouver, News 95.7 and CBC in Halifax, and CFCW Edmonton, among other stations. With a passion for music, film and community service, she led News 95.7 to a 2013 Atlantic Journalism Award and regional RTDNA award for Best Radio Newscast. More recently, she was nominated for Music Journalist of the Year at Canadian Music Week 2019. To report a typo or error please email -

The Weekly Briefing - Subscribe Now – Free!

It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Events / Conferences