General + Regulatory + Telecom + Media News2022 Webster Awards recognize excellence in B.C. journalism

2022 Webster Awards recognize excellence in B.C. journalism

The 2022 Webster Awards, recognizing excellence in journalism in British Columbia, were announced Thursday evening during an online event hosted by CTV Vancouver anchor Mi-Jung Lee and Tina House, a Vancouver-based video journalist with APTN.

Journalists were recognized across 14 categories including print, radio/podcasts, television and online media. The Tyee led winners by outlet with four of its journalists picking up prizes, including Steve Burgess who captured the Commentator of the Year honour or “City Mike Award.”

Winner – Best Feature/Enterprise Reporting – TV/Video

RCH’s Covid ICU, Belle PuriChristian AmundsonEthan SawyerLiam BrittenFiona Hopewell-JensenCBC Vancouver

Winner – Excellence in Technology Reporting

FOI Reveals a Problem – Plagued BC $8.9-Million Tech Project, Andrew MacLeodThe Tyee

Jimmy Thomson

Winner – Excellence in Multimedia Journalism

The frontline of conservation: how Indigenous guardians are reinforcing sovereignty and science on their lands, Jimmy ThomsonThe Narwhal

Winner – Excellence in Legal Journalism, presented by the Law Society of B.C.

The Hidden, Deadly Epidemic in Partner Violence, Mary FowlesThe Tyee

Winner – Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting – Radio/Podcast

Floods, Fires and Future: A look at three communities after climate disasters, Sarah PentonChristine CoulterCourtney DicksonCatherine HansenCBC Kelowna

Winner – Excellence in Business, Industry, Labour and Economics Reporting, endowed by Jean Cormier

The Coming Indigenous Power Play, Zoë Yunker, The Tyee

Steve Burgess

Winner – Commentator of the Year – City Mike Award, presented in memory of Linda Webster

Steve BurgessThe Tyee

Winner – Best Breaking News Reporting, in memory of Keith Bradbury

B.C. Floods – Glenda LuymesTiffany CrawfordSarah GrochowskiDavid CarriggCheryl ChanGordon HoekstraJoanne Lee-YoungSusan LazarukRichard Lam, Francis Georgian, Jason PayneMike BellVancouver Sun and The Province

Winner – Best Reporting in a Language other than English

Recall – The first documentary about Chinese revolutionary Sun Yat-Sen in Canada, Andy LinDanny WangLSTimes TV

Kristen Robinson

Winner – Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion Reporting

Chinatown Unmasked, Kristen RobinsonGlobal BC

Winner – Best Community Reporting

Investigation: Is Vancouver’s Chinatown Dying? – Mike HowellVancouver is Awesome/Glacier Media

Winner – Excellence in Health Reporting

A Crisis in Care: The Family Doctor Shortage in Greater VictoriaJean PaetkauDeborah WilsonKathryn MarlowMadeline GreenMegan ThomasRobyn BurnsGregor CraigieBridgette WatsonAndrew KurjataSterling EyfordRohit JosephCBC Victoria

Winner – Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting – Print/Online

The science, geography, and historical roots of a 21st Century disaster, Tyler OlsenGrace KennedyJoti GrewalFraser Valley Current

Winner – Excellence in Environment Reporting

Electric Vehicles: Will they really drive us to a better planet? – Russ FrancisFocus Magazine

Previously-announced special award recipients were also recognized via video presentation including longtime Vancouver Sun columnist Stephen Hume, who was honoured with the 2022 Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award, and CHEK Media, recognized with the 2022 Bill Good Award. The inaugural Shelley Fralic Award recipient, Jennifer Thuncher of the Squamish Chief, was also honoured via video presentation.


Subscribe Now – Free!

Broadcast Dialogue has been required reading in the Canadian broadcast media for 30 years. When you subscribe, you join a community of connected professionals from media and broadcast related sectors from across the country.

The Weekly Briefing from Broadcast Dialogue is delivered exclusively to subscribers by email every Thursday. It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Let’s get started right now.

* indicates required


Connie Thiessen
Connie Thiessen
Connie has worked coast-to-coast as a reporter, editor, anchor and host at CKNW and News 1130 in Vancouver, News 95.7 and CBC in Halifax, and CFCW Edmonton, among other stations. With a passion for music, film and community service, she led News 95.7 to a 2013 Atlantic Journalism Award and regional RTDNA award for Best Radio Newscast. More recently, she was nominated for Music Journalist of the Year at Canadian Music Week 2019. To report a typo or error please email -

The Weekly Briefing - Subscribe Now – Free!

It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Events / Conferences