2019 Jack Webster Award finalists announced

Logo: Jack Webster Awards (CNW Group/Jack Webster Foundation)

The list of nominees for the 2019 Jack Webster Awards, recognizing excellence in journalism in B.C., have been announced.

The awards, in 13 categories, cover print, radio, television and online media:

Finalists – Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting – TV

Scott Roberts, Mi-Jung Lee, Jon Woodward, Bhinder Sajan, Penny Daflos, St. John Alexander, David Molko, CTV Vancouver for Legislature Spending Scandal
Laura Lynch, Chris Corday, CBC British Columbia for Over the Volcano
John Hua, Sam Cooper, Ted Anhorn, Sergio Magro, Tavis Dunn, Global BC News for Casino Diaries


Finalists – Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting – Radio

Bob Keating, Acey Rowe, Veronica Simmonds, Emilie Quesnel, Alison Cook, Veronica Simmonds, Jennifer Warren, The Doc Project – CBC Radio for Winning the Punk Rock Lottery
Anne Penman, Joan Webber, CBC Vancouver for On Gladys Avenue
Jean Paetkau, Andrew Kurjata, Mike Clarke, Clare Hennig, CBC Victoria for Beyond Beads and Bannock


Finalists – Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting – Print/Text-Based Online

Kathy Tomlinson

Laura Kane and Aleksandra Sagan, The Canadian Press for Contagion: Edging closer to a world without superbugs
Kathy Tomlinson, The Globe and Mail for False Promises
Daphne Bramham, The Vancouver Sun for Lessons from Portugal: Addiction, winning the war


Finalists – Jack Webster Award for Business, Industry and Economics

Brent Jang, The Globe and Mail for Coastal GasLink Blockade
Chris Walker, Christine Coulter, Marion Barschel, CBC Kelowna for Sticky Fingers: Fraud in the Okanagan
Lori Culbert and Dan Fumano, The Vancouver Sun for Little Mountain: The money and sad history of a long-stalled project


Finalists – Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism

Jason Proctor, Vivian Luk, Stephen Quinn, Geoff Walter, Theresa Duvall, CBC Vancouver for Sanctioned
Gordon Hoekstra and Kim Bolan, The Vancouver Sun for Money-laundering prosecutions rare, difficult in BC
Louise Dickson, Times Colonist for Canada’s Impaired Driving Laws – Don’t Breathe Easy if You’re Sober


Finalists – Jack Webster Award for Science, Technology and Environment

Bruce Grierson, Hakai Magazine for The Cavernous World under the Woods
Leslie Anthony, Hakai Magazine for Deer Wars: The Forest Awakens
Penny Sakamoto, Katherine Engqvist, Nicole Crescenzi, Nick Murray, Shalu Mehta, Nina Grossman, Ruby Della Siega, Michelle Gjerde, Vicki Clark, Lily Chan, Cara Robbins, Jennifer Blyth, Arnold Lim, Victoria News – Black Press Media for Special Report: Opioid Crisis


Finalists – Best Reporting Chinese Language

Jocelyn Wang

Guo Ding, Richard Tang, Yuji Zhang, Omni TV for Discovering the Root of Chinese Ancestors: a Trip to the Gold Rush Town of Barkerville
Jocelyn Wang, Fairchild TV for Magazine 26: Shortage of Seniors Care Workers
Clement Tang, Fairchild TV for Magazine 26: Managed Alcohol Program


Finalists – Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting

Dustin Godfrey, Abbotsford News for Finding a way home
Francesca Fionda, Robin Perelle, Wawmeesh Hamilton, Cloe Logan, Uytae Lee, Zachary Kershman, The Discourse for Fake Art
Tyler Harper, Nelson Star for Pineapple Man limbos into the sunset


Finalists – Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Digital Journalism

Tamara Baluja, Dillon Hodgin, Peter Scobie, CBC Vancouver for Walking a mile in their combat shoes
Jon Azpiri, Amy Judd, Simon Little, Jen Okrusko, Richard Zussman, Globalnews.ca for 2019 Wildfires
Gordon Hoekstra and Nathan Griffiths, The Vancouver Sun for Online database: More than 120 recommendations delivered to tackle money laundering in B.C., Canada


Finalists Commentator of the Year – City Mike Award

Mel Rothenburger

Sandy Garossino, National Observer

Daphne Bramham, The Vancouver Sun

Mel Rothenburger, CFJC TV





Finalists – Best Breaking News – TV

Maria Weisgarber, David Molko, Allison Hurst, Michele Brunoro, CTV Vancouver for Wicked Windstorm
Global BC News Team, Global BC News for Winter Windstorm
Richard Zussman, Al Coen, Keith Baldrey, Kristi Gordon, Global BC News for Wildfire: State of Emergency 2018


Finalists – Best Breaking News – Radio

Andrew Kurjata, CBC Prince George for Enbridge pipeline explodes in Prince George
Sonia Aslam, Alison Bailey, Jim Bennie, Matt Coppin, Estefania Duran, Monika Gul, Tim James, Toby Kerr, Ria Renouf, Denise Wong, NEWS 1130 for Peace Arch Crash
Gord Macdonald, Terry Schintz, Janet Brown, Mark Madryga, Jordan Armstrong, Kristi Gordon, Erin Ubels, 980 CKNW for December Windstorm


Finalists – Best Breaking News – Print/Text-Based Online

Frances Bula, The Globe and Mail for Campaign Finance: The Civic Edition
Justine Hunter, Gary Mason, Ian Bailey, The Globe and Mail for Legislature Scandal
Jesse Winter, Perrin Grauer, Ainslie Cruickshank, David Ball, Alex McKeen, Cherise Seucharan, Star Vancouver for Wet’suwet’en on the Edge

The winner in each category will be announced at a Nov. 7 awards dinner to be held at the Hyatt Regency in Vancouver. The 2019 Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award and the 2019 Bill Good Award will also be presented.

Nahlah Ayed, longtime CBC foreign correspondent and the current host and producer of CBC Radio’s Ideas, will be featured in an armchair chat.

Named for print, radio and TV journalist Jack Webster, the awards have been handed out annually since 1986.

Subscribe Now – Free!

Broadcast Dialogue has been required reading in the Canadian broadcast media for 25 years. When you subscribe, you join a community of connected professionals from media and broadcast related sectors from across the country.

The Weekly Briefing from Broadcast Dialogue is delivered exclusively to subscribers by email every Thursday. It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Let’s get started right now.