Tracy Deer, Loretta Todd, among DGC Discovery Award finalists

Métis Cree director Loretta Todd's Monkey Beach is among the DGC Discovery Award long list finalists.

The Directors Guild of Canada (DGC) has announced the 14 films listed for the 2020 DGC Discovery Award, highlighting emerging directors to watch during festival season.

The films will be screened at HotDocs, Calgary International Film Festival (CIFF), Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF), Festival du nouveau Cinema (FNC), Vancouver International Film Festival (VIFF), ImagineNative, St-John’s International Women’s Film Festival (SJIWFF), as well as the Reelworld Film Festival, highlighting the work of racially diverse and Indigenous filmmakers.

Helen Shaver

Among this year’s finalists are Métis Cree director Loretta Todd’s Monkey Beach, a supernatural mystery starring Adam Beach and Nathaniel Arcand, which will open VIFF later this month. Filmed in Kitimat, BC, Todd’s first narrative feature is an adaptation of the Eden Robinson novel. Tracey Deer’s Beans, a coming-of-age story set against the backdrop of the 1990 Oka Crisis is also nominated, as is Helen Shaver’s Happy Place. The TV veteran’s first feature is a film adaptation of Pamela Mala Sinha’s play about a group of women staying at an in-patient facility who have all attempted suicide. It features a cast that includes Sheila McCarthy, Clark Backo, Liisa Repo-Martell, and Mary Walsh.

The full list of 2020 Discovery Award Long list films, includes:

  • Oksana KarpovychDon’t Worry The Doors Will Open
  • Nathalie Bibeau, The Walrus and the Whistleblower
  • Helen ShaverHappy Place
  • Dusty Mancinelli & Madeleine Sims-FewerViolation
  • Michelle LatimerAn Inconvenient Indian
  • Loretta ToddMonkey Beach
  • Tracey DeerBeans
  • Alberic AurtenecheLa Contemplation du mystere
  • Aisling Chin-YeeChayse JoyntNo Ordinary Man
  • Ariel NasrThe Forbidden Reel
  • Ruth LawrenceLittle Orphans
  • Gloria Ui Young KimQueen of the Morning Calm
  • Will ProsperKenbe la, Until We Win
  • Caleb RyanVagrant

The Discovery Award Jury is chaired by Michael Peterson with members Jasmin MozaffariJohn Bolton, JJ Neepin, Ngardy Conteh George and Robert Budreau.

The 19th edition of the DGC Awards will be presented Saturday, Oct. 24, 2020 via Zoom.


Subscribe Now – Free!

Broadcast Dialogue has been required reading in the Canadian broadcast media for 25 years. When you subscribe, you join a community of connected professionals from media and broadcast related sectors from across the country.

The Weekly Briefing from Broadcast Dialogue is delivered exclusively to subscribers by email every Thursday. It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Let’s get started right now.

* indicates required