Steve Paikin has been cleared after an investigation found sexual harassment claims against the TVO host are unsubstantiated


Steve Paikin

Steve Paikin has been cleared after an investigation found sexual harassment claims against the TVO host are unsubstantiated. Independent investigator Rachel Turnpenney says in her report that while there is no doubt that accuser Sarah Thomson believes Paikin propositioned her, the evidence does not support her account of what happened. TVO commissioned the investigation in February after Thomson, a former Toronto mayoral candidate, alleged on her website that Paikin made sexual advances over lunch in 2010 and that after she declined was barred from appearing on his show.

Bell has been ordered to pay a Toronto man $1,110 in damages and inconvenience after a judge ruled the telecom can’t promise a price verbally, then change it. The case centered around a conversation David Ramsay had with a Bell customer service rep in Nov. 2016 in which the agent told him he could get Bell’s Fibe TV and internet service for $112.90 a month for 24 months. When he received email confirmation, it said prices were “subject to change” and Bell was planning a $5 increase for internet service. In a judgment issued last month in a Toronto small claims court, Deputy Judge William C. De Lucia said Bell’s attempt to impose new terms after a verbal contract guaranteeing a monthly price for 24 months was “unacceptable.”

Sandie Rinaldo

Sandie Rinaldo is this year’s recipient of the RTDNA Canada Lifetime Achievement Award for Network Programming. Rinaldo, who has spent 45 years as a journalist with CTV News, will be presented with her award during the Awards Gala Dinner on May 26 at the 2018 National Conference & Awards Gala.

Kevin Newman

Kevin Newman will receive the RTDNA President’s Award on May 25 during the 2018 RTDNA National Conference & Awards Gala. The President’s Award, the highest honour bestowed by the association, acknowledges an individual who has brought recognition and distinction to the field of electronic and digital journalism. The early bird registration deadline for this year’s conference, taking place May 25-26 at the Toronto Sheraton, has been extended until May 4.

Rachel Pulfer

Journalists for Human Rights (JHR) will receive the 2018 RTDNA Bill Hutton Award of Excellence. Formerly known as the “Friend of RTDNA Canada Award” the award was renamed in 2009 to honour the late Bill Hutton, RTDNA Canada’s first president. The award is given to individuals or organizations who have shown a true commitment to RTDNA and the betterment of journalism in Canada. The award will be presented to Rachel Pulfer, Executive Director of JHR, at the President’s Reception on May 25 during the 2018 RTDNA National Conference & Awards Gala.

Brett Ruskin and Elizabeth McMillan

The Atlantic Journalism Awards (AJAs) were handed out in Halifax Saturday night with VOCM St. John’s, NL taking home the honours for Best Radio Newscast. CBC NL won gold for Best Television News Broadcast. Brett Ruskin from CBC Halifax took home gold for Best Video Journalist, while the award for Best Feature Writing: Radio went to Elizabeth McMillan from CBC NS. Find the full list of winners here.

Ian Hanomansing, Robyn Doolittle, Mark Kelley, and Avery Haines

The Canadian Journalism Foundation (CJF) launches the inaugural World News Day on May 3 in Toronto with an event featuring testimonials from citizens alongside the journalists who told their stories. Hosted by The National co-host Ian Hanomansing, journalists featured include Robyn Doolittle, investigative reporter with The Globe and Mail; Mark Kelley, co-host of CBC’s the fifth estate; Kevin Newman, host and managing editor of CTV’s W5; Avery Haines, investigative reporter with W5 and Jane Lytvynenko, reporter with BuzzFeed News, among others. The event will also feature an audience “ask-me-anything” session with Richard Gingras, vice-president of news for Google. The event will start at 6 p.m. in the CBC – Barbara Frum Atrium. Register to attend.

The Jim Pattison Broadcast Group has opened its 2018 Prairie Equity Scholarship competition aimed at broadcast students from the prairie provinces who are part of underrepresented groups, including indigenous peoples, those with disabilities, visible minorities and women. This year, two $2,000 awards will be made to residents of Alberta, Saskatchewan or Manitoba who in 2018 are attending or planning to attend a recognized broadcast program in one of those provinces. Application packages can be found on the websites of the prairie stations of the Jim Pattison Broadcast Group, or through prairie post-secondary institutions. Deadline for applications is Oct. 5.

Women in Communications and Technology (WCT) and the Information Technology Association of Canada (ITAC) will host three events in Calgary on May 10-11. The Women in Leadership event features a speakers’ series open to men and women of all career levels, an invitational roundtable to address women’s participation and advancement in the digital economy and a Board Discovery Day aimed at increasing the number of women serving on boards of directors. The initiative is being undertaken through a partnership with the Province of Alberta with federal funding through the Canada-Alberta Job Fund. Another event will take place in Edmonton in September.