Latest NewsLittle Bird, BlackBerry lead honours at Canadian Screen Awards

Little Bird, BlackBerry lead honours at Canadian Screen Awards

The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television wrapped up four days celebrating Canadian film, television, and digital media on Friday evening with the 2024 Canadian Screen Awards gala.

Crave/APTN’s Little Bird led television honours, winning 13 awards including: Best Drama Series, Best Direction, Drama Series, Best Supporting Performer, Drama for Braeden Clarke, and Best Lead Performer, Drama Series for Darla Contois.

CTV’s Children Ruin Everything claimed Best Lead Performer, Comedy for Meaghan Rath and Best Supporting Performer, Comedy for Ennis Esmer, while Crave’s Letterkenny and the final season of CBC’s Sort Of received Best Ensemble Performance, Comedy and Best Direction, Comedy for Fab Filippo. The first season of Crave’s Bria Mack Gets A Life took home Best Comedy Series, while Best Reality/Competition Program or Series went to Crave’s Canada’s Drag Race: Canada vs. The World.

Matt Johnson’s BlackBerry led the film categories capturing a record 14 Canadian Screen Awards, including: Best Motion Picture; Achievement in Direction for Johnson; Performance in a Leading Role, Comedy for Jay Baruchel; and Performance in a Supporting Role, Comedy for Glenn Howerton.

The Queen Of My Dreams won Performance in a Leading Role, Drama for Amrit Kaur, while the award for Original Screenplay went to Humanist Vampire Seeking Consenting Suicidal Person | Vampire humaniste cherche suicidaire consentant. The John Dunning Best First Feature Film Award went to Zarrar Kahn for In Flames.

Friday’s Canadian Screen Awards Gala also saw the Academy Icon Award presented to Academy Award-nominated director, screenwriter and producer Denis Villeneuve, while actress, producer and activist Tonya Williams was recognized with the Changemaker Award, and Lamar Johnson and Devery Jacobs were honoured with the Radius Award, presented to a Canadian whose work is making waves globally.

“Within our ever-evolving screen-based industries, we find endless wells of creativity and dedication. I stand in awe of the remarkable individuals who push the boundaries of storytelling both in front of and behind the camera. Their passion and talent are the driving forces behind the magic we witness on screen,” said Tammy Frick, CEO of the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television, in a release. “To our dedicated team who brought Canadian Screen Week to life, and the visionary winners of the 2024 Canadian Screen Awards, your commitment to excellence is not only recognized but celebrated as the cornerstone of our industry’s success. Here’s to another year of innovation, inspiration, and storytelling that captivates audiences around the world.”

The 2024 Canadian Screen Awards broadcast is available to stream on-demand on CBC Gem.

Canadian Screen Week 2024 comes to a close Saturday with the Board Tribute Dinner, the Canadian Academy’s annual fundraising event, supported by Patron Partners Bell Media and Cineplex. The event will honour the this year’s Special Award recipients, including Industry Leadership Award honouree, Blue Ant Media co-founder and CEO Michael MacMillan, who will be presented with his award.

The full list of 2024 Canadian Screen Award winners can be viewed here.

Subscribe Now – Free!

Broadcast Dialogue has been required reading in the Canadian broadcast media for 30 years. When you subscribe, you join a community of connected professionals from media and broadcast related sectors from across the country.

The Weekly Briefing from Broadcast Dialogue is delivered exclusively to subscribers by email every Thursday. It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Let’s get started right now.

* indicates required


Connie Thiessen
Connie Thiessen
Connie has worked coast-to-coast as a reporter, editor, anchor and host at CKNW and News 1130 in Vancouver, News 95.7 and CBC in Halifax, and CFCW Edmonton, among other stations. With a passion for music, film and community service, she led News 95.7 to a 2013 Atlantic Journalism Award and regional RTDNA award for Best Radio Newscast. More recently, she was nominated for Music Journalist of the Year at Canadian Music Week 2019. To report a typo or error please email -

The Weekly Briefing - Subscribe Now – Free!

It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Events / Conferences