Corus expands reach of Dani Stover, introduces podcasts to network talk lineup

Corus Radio is expanding its Toronto evening show to more stations and introducing two podcasts to its network talk lineup following the cancellation of late night talk show, The Shift with Shane Hewitt.

As of this week, Let’s Talk with Dani Stover, which airs from 7 – 10 p.m. ET on 640 (CFIQ-AM) Toronto, 980 CFPL London and 900 CHML Hamilton, will join the lineup on 980 CKNW Vancouver, 630 CHED Edmonton, QR Calgary, and 680 CJOB Winnipeg, from 10 p.m. to 1 a.m. PT/ 11 p.m. to 2 a.m. MT/ 12 a.m. to 3 a.m. CT. The “best of” show is a deep dive into major news stories of the day, featuring clips from Corus news coverage.

Two podcasts also join the network programming lineup, including long-running music documentary show, The Ongoing History of New Music, hosted by Alan Cross, which will air daily on 980 CKNW, 630 CHED, QR Calgary, and 680 CJOB from 1 a.m. to 2 a.m. PT/ 2 a.m. to 3 a.m. MT/ 3 a.m. to 4 a.m. CT, in addition to 640 Toronto, 900 CHML, and 980 CFPL from 4 a.m. to 5 a.m. ET. 

Additionally, Uncharted: Crime and Mayhem in the Music Industry, also hosted by Cross, joins the network talk lineup. The podcast, which made its debut in October, dives into true stories of crime, murder, scandal and strange behaviour from inside the music industry from thieving managers and court battles to cults and mob connections. Listeners can tune in on 980 CKNW, 630 CHED, QR Calgary, 680 CJOB from 1 a.m. to 2 a.m. PT/ 2 a.m. to 3 a.m. MT/ 3 a.m. to 4 a.m. CT and on 640 Toronto, 900 CHML, 980 CFPL from 4 a.m. to 5 a.m. ET.

“This new line-up solidifies our commitment to bringing the very best in talk content to our listeners,” said Mike Bendixen, National Director, Talk Radio, in a Corus announcement.  “I am excited to introduce Let’s Talk with Dani Stover to new audiences across Canada and of course, Alan Cross is a legendary storyteller who’s show will continue to captivate listeners.” 

“We are thrilled that the chart-topping Ongoing History of New Music Podcast and Alan Cross’ latest podcast “Uncharted: Crime and Mayhem in the Music Industry” will now be heard across the country on Corus Radio’s news talk stations so Canadians can discover how great both of these shows really are,” added Director, Streaming & Podcasting, Chris ‘Dunner’ Duncombe.  


Subscribe Now – Free!

Broadcast Dialogue has been required reading in the Canadian broadcast media for 30 years. When you subscribe, you join a community of connected professionals from media and broadcast related sectors from across the country.

The Weekly Briefing from Broadcast Dialogue is delivered exclusively to subscribers by email every Thursday. It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Let’s get started right now.

* indicates required

 

Connie Thiessen
Connie Thiessenhttps://broadcastdialogue.com
Connie has worked coast-to-coast as a reporter, editor, anchor and host at CKNW and News 1130 in Vancouver, News 95.7 and CBC in Halifax, and CFCW Edmonton, among other stations. With a passion for music, film and community service, she led News 95.7 to a 2013 Atlantic Journalism Award and regional RTDNA award for Best Radio Newscast. More recently, she was nominated for Music Journalist of the Year at Canadian Music Week 2019. To report a typo or error please email - corrections@broadcastdialogue.com

The Weekly Briefing - Subscribe Now – Free!

It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Events / Conferences