Latest NewsCanadian Sync Awards nominees announced

Canadian Sync Awards nominees announced

The Guild of Music Supervisors, Canada (GMSC) and Canadian Music Week (CMW) have revealed the nominees for the 2022 Canadian Sync Awards, celebrating the craft of music supervision in filmed media.

David Hayman

Hosted by Tara Slone, the awards will take place Thursday, June 9 at the El Mocambo where 14 awards will be handed out, as voted on by the public and members of the Guild. “The Huey” Award, a new prize honouring legendary music supervisor David Hayman, who passed away in May 2020, will also be awarded to an aspiring music supervisor with a passion for the craft and include a $1500 honorarium.

The nominees are:

Best Sync – Sports Program or Sports Promo

2021 World Jrs.
“Arm In Arm” by Arkells
Music Supervisor: Cody Partridge
Hockey Night In Canada “Skate”
“Skate” by Silk Sonic 
Music Supervisor: Carson Illidge
CFL Grey Cup “Rise Up”
“Knocking At The Door” by Arkells
Music Supervisor: Cody Partridge
Hockey Night In Canada “DFA”
“One+One” by DFA 1979 
Music Supervisor: Carson Illidge
Hockey Night In Canada “Seattle”
“Even Flow” by Pearl Jam 
Music Supervisor: Carson Illidge
Best Sync – Commercial

PC Insider “Bringing It Back”
“Everybody (Backstreets Back)” by Backstreet Boys 
Music Supervisor: Cody Partridge
IKEA “Our Little World”
“Book of Dreams” by Daniel Tashain 
Music Supervisor: Danielle Lindy
Hershey’s “Uncupping”
“Piece of Me” by Lady Wray 
Music Supervisor: Christine Leslie
Telus “Crowd Pleaser”
“Aye-Oh” by Queen 
Music Supervisor: Cody Partridge
Real Canadian Superstore “Super Busy”
“Bold” by Charmaine 
Music Supervisor: Kaya Pino
Best Sync – Soundtrack, Original Film or Episodic Series for Streaming Platform

Music Supervisor: Cody Partridge
Sweet Magnolias
Music Supervisor: Valerie Biggin
Come From Away 
Music Supervisors: Sean Mulligan / Victoria Beard
Anyone’s Game 
Music Supervisor: Everton Lewis Jr.
Best Sync – Scene, Feature Film or Documentary Film
Jump, Darling

“Strong” by London Grammar 
Music Supervisor: Christine Leslie
“Mehcinut” by Jeremy Dutcher 
Music Supervisor: Cody Partridge
“Can’t You Hear Me Knockin” by The Rolling Stones 
Music Supervisor: Michael Perlmutter
The Retreat 
“Bitch” by Allie X 
Music Supervisor: Alysha Main
Oscar Peterson: Black + White
“Hymn To Freedom” feat. Jackie Richardson, Robi Botos, Oscar Peterson 
Music Supervisor: Michael Perlmutter
Best Sync – Scene, Episodic Series

Snowpiercer, Episode 209
“Winter Song”  by Sam Otto 
Music Supervisor: Natasha Duprey
Moonshine, Episode 101
“The Chain” by Fleetwood Mac 
Music Supervisors: Victoria Beard / Jody Colero / Sean Mulligan
 Diggstown , Episode 308
“Sun Goes Down” by Charlotte Cardin 
Music Supervisors: Mikaila Simmons / Michael Perlmutter
The Porter, Episode 102
“Better Git In Your Soul” by Charles Mingus 
Music Supervisors: Kaya Pino / Jody Colero
Moonshine, Episode 102
“Big Yellow Taxi” by Joni Mitchell 
Music Supervisors: Victoria Beard / Jody Colero / Sean Mulligan 
Best Sync – Soundtrack, Feature or Documentary Film

Music Supervisor: Natasha Duprey
Oscar Peterson: Black + White 
Music Supervisor: Michael Perlmutter
The Hating Game 
Music Supervisors:  Sean Mulligan / Katie Colley
Sweet Carolina 
Music Supervisor: Sian O’Byrne
Fallen Angels Murder Club: Friends To Die For 
Music Supervisor: Chris Robinson
Best Sync – Soundtrack, Episodic Series

Music Supervisor: Cody Partridge
Sort Of  
Music Supervisors: Kaya Pino / Jody Colero
Music Supervisor: Natasha Duprey
The Porter 
Music Supervisors: Kaya Pino / Jody Colero
Music Supervisors: Mikaila Simmons / Michael Perlmutter

Best Sync Team – Sync Agency

Hyvetown Music Inc.
Secret Road
Sorelle Sound
Sound of Pop Inc.
The Greater Goods Co.
Best Sync Team – Indie Record Label

Arts & Crafts Productions
Cadence Music Group
Dine Alone Records
Secret City Records
Six Shooter Records
Best Sync Team – Major Record Label

Sony Music Sync Shop
Universal Music Canada 
Warner Music Canada
Best Sync Team – Indie Music Publisher

Arts & Crafts Music
Cymba Music Publishing
peermusic Canada
Red Brick Songs
Third Side Music
Best Sync Team – Major Music Publisher

BMG Rights Management
Kobalt Music Publishing
Sony Music Publishing 
Universal Music Publishing
Warner Chappell Music 
Sync Artist or Songwriter of the Year

Jean-Michel Blais
William Prince

Voting is open now until midnight on June 2. Learn more about tickets for the awards here. 

Subscribe Now – Free!

Broadcast Dialogue has been required reading in the Canadian broadcast media for 30 years. When you subscribe, you join a community of connected professionals from media and broadcast related sectors from across the country.

The Weekly Briefing from Broadcast Dialogue is delivered exclusively to subscribers by email every Thursday. It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Let’s get started right now.

* indicates required


Connie Thiessen
Connie Thiessen
Connie has worked coast-to-coast as a reporter, editor, anchor and host at CKNW and News 1130 in Vancouver, News 95.7 and CBC in Halifax, and CFCW Edmonton, among other stations. With a passion for music, film and community service, she led News 95.7 to a 2013 Atlantic Journalism Award and regional RTDNA award for Best Radio Newscast. More recently, she was nominated for Music Journalist of the Year at Canadian Music Week 2019. To report a typo or error please email -

The Weekly Briefing - Subscribe Now – Free!

It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Events / Conferences