Benztown honours voiceover talent Earl Mann with Lifetime Achievement Award

Benztown has released its ninth annual Benztown 50 List of Radio’s Biggest Imaging Voices, its annual release of the top 50 voiceover artists in the U.S. and Canada, based on industry data compiled from more than 300 radio groups by P1 Media Group.

Among the Canadians on this year’s list are David Kaye, Amanda Madi, Lisa Keys and Erin Setch, with Matt Fogarty named one of the “Ones to Watch in Voiceover” for a second year in a row.

Legendary Canadian voice talent Earl Mann is the recipient of this year’s Chris Corley Lifetime Achievement Award. Mann started his career as a singer for the 1960s folk act, The Gaslight Singers, before becoming an all-night disc jockey on CKEY and CHFI Toronto. Sports fans will recognize Mann as the voice of NFL Films as well as several college football programs. He’s also served as the imaging voice for numerous Sports, Classic Rock, Classic Hits, Country, Pop, and Rock stations throughout North America, in addition to 20 years as the voice of the CTV network. Mann also gained notoriety for appearing in a series of CBS promos for the Late Show with David Letterman in the early ’90s, among other commercial, television and radio work.

“We are also incredibly excited to present the esteemed Earl Mann with the Chris Corley Lifetime Achievement Award for his monumental contributions to our industry and profession,” said Dave “Chachi” Denes, President, Benztown, in a release. “He continues to raise the bar of excellence for all of us and we are proud to honour him today.”

2022 Benztown 50 (in alphabetical order):

Amanda Madi
Ann DeWig
Ben Blankenship
Blaze Berdahl
Brian Christopher
Brian Lee
Cayman Kelly
Chad Erickson
Corri English
Cousin Deke
Damon Oaks
Dan Kelly
David Kaye
Donna Frank
Dr Dave Ferguson
Erin Setch
Harry Legg
Heather Walters
Jake Kaplan
Jeff Berlin
Jen Sweeney
Jim Cutler
Jim Merkel
JJ Surma
Joanna Stadwiser
Joe Cipriano
John Reilly
John Willyard
Josh Goodman
Jules Riley
Kelly Doherty
Lisa Keys
Malcolm Ryker
Melody Sharp
Miles Hlivko
Neil Wilson
Pat Garrett
Pete Gustin
Rachel McGrath
Rena-Marie Villano
Scott Fisher
Scott Matthews
Sean Caldwell
Steve Kamer
Steve Stone
Steve Taylor
Vanessa James
Victor Lisle
Wendy K Gray

Ones to Watch in Voiceover:

Chad Letts
Kaija Matiss
Milk Styles
Matt Fogarty

Subscribe Now – Free!

Broadcast Dialogue has been required reading in the Canadian broadcast media for 30 years. When you subscribe, you join a community of connected professionals from media and broadcast related sectors from across the country.

The Weekly Briefing from Broadcast Dialogue is delivered exclusively to subscribers by email every Thursday. It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Let’s get started right now.

* indicates required


Connie Thiessen
Connie Thiessen
Connie has worked coast-to-coast as a reporter, editor, anchor and host at CKNW and News 1130 in Vancouver, News 95.7 and CBC in Halifax, and CFCW Edmonton, among other stations. With a passion for music, film and community service, she led News 95.7 to a 2013 Atlantic Journalism Award and regional RTDNA award for Best Radio Newscast. More recently, she was nominated for Music Journalist of the Year at Canadian Music Week 2019. To report a typo or error please email -

The Weekly Briefing - Subscribe Now – Free!

It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Events / Conferences