Wednesday, September 27, 2023

DHX-produced Carmen Sandiego among juried Emmy winners

DHX Media-produced animated series Carmen Sandiego is among the juried award winners for the 71st Emmy Awards, announced today by the Television Academy.

Awarded in categories including Animation, Choreography, Interactive Programming and Motion Design, juried entries are screened by a panel of professionals in the appropriate peer group with the possibility of one, more than one, or no entry being awarded. Deliberations include open discussions of each entrant’s work.

Carmen Sandiego won in the Outstanding Individual Achievement In Animation category where there were seven first-time winners and one second-time winner from programs across two platforms, YouTube and Netflix. The Twitch platform received its first Emmy for Outstanding Innovation In Interactive Media. Netflix comedy commentary Patriot Act with Hasan Minhaj won for Outstanding Motion Design.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Outstanding Individual Achievement In Animation 

Age of Sail • YouTube • Google Spotlight Stories and Boathouse Studios
Céline Desrumaux, Production Designer

Age of Sail • YouTube • Google Spotlight Stories and Boathouse Studios
Bruno Mangyoku, Character Designer

Age of Sail • YouTube • Google Spotlight Stories and Boathouse Studios
Jasmin Lai, Color

Carmen Sandiego • The Chasing Paper Caper • Netflix • Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing and DHX Media
Elaine Lee, Background Painter

Love, Death & Robots • The Witness • Netflix • Blur Studio
Alberto Mielgo, Production Designer

Love, Death & Robots • Good Hunting • Netflix • Blur Studio
Jun-ho Kim, Background Designer

Love, Death & Robots • The Witness • Netflix • Blur Studio
David Pate, Character Animator

Love, Death & Robots • Sucker of Souls • Netflix • Blur Studio
Owen Sullivan, Storyboard Artist

Outstanding Innovation In Interactive Media

Artificial • Twitch • 96 Next
Bernie Su, Executive Producer
Evan Mandery, Executive Producer
Michael Y. Chow, Executive Producer
Bonnie Buckner, Executive Producer
Ken Kalopsis, Executive Producer

Wolves in the Walls: It’s All Over • Oculus Store • Fable Studio, Facebook, Story Studio, Third Rail Projects
Fable Studio
Pete Billington, Director and Creator
Jessica Yaffa Shamash, Creative Producer and Creator
Edward Saatchi, Executive Producer

Outstanding Motion Design

Patriot Act with Hasan Minhaj • Netflix • A Netflix Original Production
Michelle Higa Fox, Creative Director
Jorge L. Peschiera, Creative Director
Yussef Cole, Head of Animation
Brandon Sugiyama, Lead Animator
Paris London Glickman, Lead Animator

Outstanding Choreography For Scripted Programming

Crazy Ex-Girlfriend • Routines: Don’t Be a Lawyer, Antidepressants Are So Not a Big Deal • CW • CBS Television Studios in association with Warner Bros. Television
Kathryn Burns, Choreographer

The juried awards will be presented at the 2019 Creative Arts Awards ceremonies on Sept. 14 and 15.

Subscribe Now – Free!

Broadcast Dialogue has been required reading in the Canadian broadcast media for 25 years. When you subscribe, you join a community of connected professionals from media and broadcast related sectors from across the country.

The Weekly Briefing from Broadcast Dialogue is delivered exclusively to subscribers by email every Thursday. It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Let’s get started right now.

Connie Thiessen
Connie Thiessen
Connie has worked coast-to-coast as a reporter, editor, anchor and host at CKNW and News 1130 in Vancouver, News 95.7 and CBC in Halifax, and CFCW Edmonton, among other stations. With a passion for music, film and community service, she led News 95.7 to a 2013 Atlantic Journalism Award and regional RTDNA award for Best Radio Newscast. More recently, she was nominated for Music Journalist of the Year at Canadian Music Week 2019. To report a typo or error please email -

Upcoming Events