Friday, September 29, 2023

Amanda Kingsland makes it five in a row at CCMA Industry Awards

The first-ever digital CCMA Music Industry Awards, presented by SOCAN, were handed out virtually Sunday night.

Amanda Kingsland, Program Director at Country 101.1 in Ottawa and National Music Director for Rogers’ Country stations, seen here with her fourth consecutive Music Director of the Year (Large Market) Award at the 2019 Canadian Country Music Association Awards. (CCMA)

Amanda Kingsland, Country 101.1 (CKBY-FM) Ottawa Program Director and the National Music Director for Rogers Sports & Media’s Country stations, took the Music Director of the Year (Large Market) prize for the fifth year in a row, while Shilo Bellis of Stingray’s New Country 96.9 (CJXL-FM) Moncton won in the Medium/Small Market category. Bellis unseats Paul Ferguson of Cool 100 (CHCQ-FM) Belleville, ON, who had been on a six-year winning streak.

Moncton’s CJXL-FM also won Radio Station of the Year (Medium or Small Market), while Corus-owned Country 105 (CKRY-FM) Calgary took the prize in the Large Market category.

Shannon Ella

Shannon Ella, the host of Bell Media Radio’s syndicated midday show, Pure Country, was named Country Personality of the Year.

Ben Knechtel, who was behind videos from Dean Brody and The Reklaws (Can’t Help Myself), Jade Eagleson (Count The Ways), and Chad Brownlee (The Way You Roll), among others, won Video Director of the Year.

Find more CCMA Industry Award winners here:

Music Director of the Year (Large Market)
Amanda Kingsland — CKBY FM, Ottawa, ON

Music Director of the Year (Medium or Small Market)
Shilo Bellis — CJXL FM, Moncton, NB

Country Personality(ies) of the Year
Shannon Ella — Pure Country

Radio Station of the Year (Large Market)
CKRY-FM — Calgary, AB

Radio Station of the Year (Medium or Small Market)
CJXL-FM, Moncton, NB

Booking Agency of the Year
Sakamoto Agency

Video Director of the Year
Ben Knechtel

Country Club of the Year
King Eddy — Calgary, AB

Country Festival, Fair or Exhibition of the Year
Boots and Hearts Music Festival — Oro-Medonte, ON

Country Music Program or Special of the Year
Canada Together: In Concert — Corus Entertainment

Management Company of the Year
Invictus Entertainment

Music Publishing Company of the Year
Warner Chappell Music Canada

Record Company of the Year
Warner Music Canada

Industry Person of the Year presented by MNP 
Mike Denney — MDM Recordings Inc.

Creative Director(s) of the Year
Design Team: Brett Kissel, Connor Scheffler
Album: Now Or Never (Artist: Brett Kissel)

Recording Studio of the Year
Noble Street Studios — Toronto, ON

Record Producer(s) of the Year
Scott Moffatt
Album: What You See Is What You Get
(Artist: Luke Combs)

Retailer of the Year
Apple Music

Ron Sakamoto Talent Buyer or Promoter of the Year
Paul Biro — Sakamoto Agency

Interactive Artist or Group of the Year 
Lindsay Ell

Roots Album of the Year 
Everbound — The Washboard Union

Songwriter(s) of the Year presented by SOCAN
Tina Parol, Gordie Sampson, Tenille Townes
Song: Jersey on the Wall (I’m Just Asking)
(Performed by: Tenille Townes)

Top Selling Album of the Year
What You See Is What You Get — Luke Combs

Top Selling Canadian Album of the Year presented by Music Canada
The Fall — Dallas Smith

Top Selling Canadian Single of the Year
Drop — Dallas Smith

Video of the Year
Jersey on the Wall (I’m Just Asking)  — Tenille Townes

Subscribe Now – Free!

Broadcast Dialogue has been required reading in the Canadian broadcast media for 25 years. When you subscribe, you join a community of connected professionals from media and broadcast related sectors from across the country.

The Weekly Briefing from Broadcast Dialogue is delivered exclusively to subscribers by email every Thursday. It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Let’s get started right now.

* indicates required


Connie Thiessen
Connie Thiessen
Connie has worked coast-to-coast as a reporter, editor, anchor and host at CKNW and News 1130 in Vancouver, News 95.7 and CBC in Halifax, and CFCW Edmonton, among other stations. With a passion for music, film and community service, she led News 95.7 to a 2013 Atlantic Journalism Award and regional RTDNA award for Best Radio Newscast. More recently, she was nominated for Music Journalist of the Year at Canadian Music Week 2019. To report a typo or error please email -

Upcoming Events