Shane Hewitt succeeds Drex as host of Corus late night show ‘The Shift’

Shane Hewitt has been named as the new permanent host of Global News Radio late night network talk show, The Shift, starting Nov. 29. (Corus Entertainment)

Corus Entertainment has named Shane Hewitt as the new permanent host of late night network talk show, The Shift.

Hewitt succeeds Drex, aka Justin Wilcomes, the founding host of the show, which launched in Jan. 2018. Wilcomes left Corus in August to pursue other opportunities. Based in Calgary, Hewitt has been a frequent guest host.

A 1997 SAIT Radio grad, Hewitt started his career with CJAY 92 (CJAY-FM) Calgary, with stops at HTZ FM (CHTZ-FM) St. Catharines, and 101.5 KooL FM (CKCE-FM) Calgary, among other stations. He’s been with Corus since 2016, filling in on Calgary’s Q107 (CFGQ-FM), Country 105 (CKRY-FM), and 770 CHQR, as well as CISN Country 103.9 Edmonton, and Country 104 (CKDK-FM) London/Woodstock.

Hewitt is also an entrepreneur as a founder and partner in commercial out-of-home music service, Playdio, which curates and licences music for retail and other businesses.

“The culture of live, late-night radio is unique, unifying, and unpredictable,” said Larry Gifford, National Director, Talk Radio, Corus Entertainment, in a release. “I am excited to hear the Canadian conversations and stories shared with Shane as he becomes part of the late-night experience in cities and towns across the country.”

The Shift with Shane Hewitt officially launches on Global News Radio stations Nov. 29, including 980 CKNW Vancouver from 10 p.m. to 2 a.m. PT weeknights, 770 CHQR and 630 CHED Edmonton from 11 p.m. to 3 a.m. MT, 680 CJOB Winnipeg from 12 a.m. to 4 a.m. CT, and 640 Toronto, 900 CHML Hamilton, and 980 CFPL London from 1 a.m. to 5 a.m. weekday mornings. The Shift is also be heard on Stingray’s Radio NL (CHNL-AM) Kamloops from 10 p.m. to 2 a.m. PT weeknights.

The weekend edition of the show, The Shift with Jawn Jang airs from 1 a.m. to 5 a.m. ET on Saturdays. In addition to hosting The Weekend Shift, Jang is a regular contributor to 980 CKNW.

 

 

 


Subscribe Now – Free!

Broadcast Dialogue has been required reading in the Canadian broadcast media for 25 years. When you subscribe, you join a community of connected professionals from media and broadcast related sectors from across the country.

The Weekly Briefing from Broadcast Dialogue is delivered exclusively to subscribers by email every Thursday. It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Let’s get started right now.

* indicates required