Latest NewsNancy Grant, Anam Abbas named 2023 Indiescreen winners

Nancy Grant, Anam Abbas named 2023 Indiescreen winners

Québécois producer Nancy Grant and up and coming filmmaker Anam Abbas have been announced as the winners of this year’s Indiescreen Awards.

Handed out annually by the Canadian Media Producers Association (CMPA), in partnership with Telefilm Canada, the awards recognize outstanding independent Canadian film producers.

Nancy Grant

Presented at the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF) on Thursday evening – Grant, the co-founder of Montreal-based Metafilms – was named the recipient of the Established Producer Award, which comes with a $20,000 cash prize. Recognized for her contributions to the Canadian production sector and her steadfast support of emerging filmmakers, her production credits include Falcon Lake (2022), The Death and Life of John F. Donovan (2018), and Felix & Meira (2014). Grant’s latest feature film, Simple Comme Sylvain (The Nature of Love), directed by Monia Chokri, premiered at the Cannes Film Festival earlier this year and will have its North American premiere at TIFF.

Pakistani-Canadian filmmaker Abbas is the winner of the 2023 Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award. Her latest project, In Flames, also premiered at Cannes and will be screening at TIFF. Abbas’ first feature, under the banner of her production company Other Memory Media, was 2020’s Showgirls of Pakistan. The Emerging Producer Award comes with a $10,000 cash prize.

“The Indiescreen Awards bring the industry together to honour the extraordinary talent of Canada’s independent producers who give blood, sweat and tears to bring to life the incredible stories that inspire us all,” said CMPA President and CEO Reynolds Mastin, in a release. “Congratulations to the winners—we are thrilled to celebrate and recognize your impressive accomplishments and your contributions to the domestic production sector and beyond.”

The award winners were selected by two national juries, each chaired by last year’s CMPA Indiescreen Award winners, Damon D’Oliveira, and Sara BlakeMagali Gillon-Krizaj and Tyler Hagan, respectively.

To be eligible, nominees must have acted as a producer on a Canadian feature film that premiered in the 2023 calendar year.

Subscribe Now – Free!

Broadcast Dialogue has been required reading in the Canadian broadcast media for 30 years. When you subscribe, you join a community of connected professionals from media and broadcast related sectors from across the country.

The Weekly Briefing from Broadcast Dialogue is delivered exclusively to subscribers by email every Thursday. It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Let’s get started right now.

* indicates required


Connie Thiessen
Connie Thiessen
Connie has worked coast-to-coast as a reporter, editor, anchor and host at CKNW and News 1130 in Vancouver, News 95.7 and CBC in Halifax, and CFCW Edmonton, among other stations. With a passion for music, film and community service, she led News 95.7 to a 2013 Atlantic Journalism Award and regional RTDNA award for Best Radio Newscast. More recently, she was nominated for Music Journalist of the Year at Canadian Music Week 2019. To report a typo or error please email -

The Weekly Briefing - Subscribe Now – Free!

It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Events / Conferences