Latest NewsCanadian Screen Awards winners: Cinematic Arts

Canadian Screen Awards winners: Cinematic Arts

The Canadian Screen Awards continued Friday night with the winners announced in the Cinematic Arts categories.

The evening’s big winners were Scarborough, a portrait of three low-income families, based on the critically-acclaimed novel by Catherine Hernandez, and Danis Goulet’s dystopian thriller Night Raiders. The two films tied with five wins apiece.

Hernandez won Best Adapted Screenplay, while co-directors Shasha Nakhai and Rich Williamson were awarded Best First Feature Film. Scarborough also was recognized for Achievement in Casting, and Sound Editing, as well as Best Supporting Actress for Cherish Violet Blood.

Night Raiders claimed Achievement in Sound Mixing, Costume Design, Makeup, Visual Effects, and Best Original Screenplay for Goulet.

The final group of winners will be unveiled Sunday, April 10 at 8 p.m. (9 p.m. AT / 9:30 PM NT) on CBC and CBC Gem.


Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role | Interprétation masculine dans un rôle de soutien

Joshua Odjick – Wildhood

Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role | Interprétation féminine dans un rôle de soutien

Cherish Violet Blood – Scarborough

Achievement in Casting | Meilleure distribution

Shasha Nakhai, Rich Williamson – Scarborough

Achievement in Sound Mixing | Meilleur mixage sonore

Lou Solakofski, Graham Rogers, Stephen Marian, Alexis Feodoroff, Tim Chaproniere – Night Raiders

Achievement in Sound Editing | Meilleur montage sonore

Krystin Hunter, Paul Germann, Stefana Fratila – Scarborough

Achievement in Music – Original Song | Meilleure chanson originale

TiKA, Casey Manierka-Quaile – Learn to Swim – “And Then We Don’t”

Achievement in Music – Original Score | Meilleure musique originale

Jonathan Goldsmith – All My Puny Sorrows

Achievement in Art Direction / Production Design | Meilleure direction artistique / conception des décors

Arnaud Brisebois, Jean Babin, Ève Turcotte – The Time Thief | L’arracheuse de temps

Achievement in Costume Design | Meilleurs costumes

Sponsor | Commanditaire | IATSE

Kendra Terpenning – Night Raiders

Achievement in Make-Up | Meilleurs maquillages

Traci Loader – Night Raiders

Achievement in Hair | Meilleures coiffures

Martin Lapointe – Maria Chapdelaine

Achievement in Visual Effects | Meilleurs effets visuels

Sponsor | Commanditaire | SPINVFX

Martin Tori, John Mariella, Frank Rueter, Darwin Go – Night Raiders

Golden Screen Award for Feature Film | Prix écran d’or pour un long métrage

PAW Patrol: The Movie – Jennifer Dodge

Achievement in Editing | Meilleur montage

Michelle Szemberg, Orlee Buium – All My Puny Sorrows

Achievement in Cinematography | Meilleures images

Sponsor | Commanditaire | Company 3

Sara Mishara  – Drunken Birds | Les oiseaux ivres

Best Live Action Short Drama | Meilleur court métrage de fiction

Sponsor | Commanditaire | Téléfilm Canada

Girls Shouldn’t Walk Alone at Night | Les filles ne marchent pas seules la nuit – Katerine Martineau, Guillaume Collin

Academy Board of Directors’ Tribute

John Galway

Adapted Screenplay | Meilleure adaptation

Catherine Hernandez – Scarborough

Original Screenplay | Meilleur scénario original

Danis Goulet – Night Raiders

John Dunning Best First Feature Film Award | Prix John Dunning pour le meilleur premier long métrage

Shasha Nakhai, Rich Williamson – Scarborough

Subscribe Now – Free!

Broadcast Dialogue has been required reading in the Canadian broadcast media for 30 years. When you subscribe, you join a community of connected professionals from media and broadcast related sectors from across the country.

The Weekly Briefing from Broadcast Dialogue is delivered exclusively to subscribers by email every Thursday. It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Let’s get started right now.

* indicates required



Connie Thiessen
Connie Thiessen
Connie has worked coast-to-coast as a reporter, editor, anchor and host at CKNW and News 1130 in Vancouver, News 95.7 and CBC in Halifax, and CFCW Edmonton, among other stations. With a passion for music, film and community service, she led News 95.7 to a 2013 Atlantic Journalism Award and regional RTDNA award for Best Radio Newscast. More recently, she was nominated for Music Journalist of the Year at Canadian Music Week 2019. To report a typo or error please email -

The Weekly Briefing - Subscribe Now – Free!

It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Events / Conferences