Latest NewsCanadian Screen Award nominees announced

Canadian Screen Award nominees announced

The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television has revealed this year’s Canadian Screen Award nominees in 135 film, television, and digital content categories.

Mary Walsh

The Canadian Academy has also announced its 2019 special award recipients. They include The Kids in the Hall (Dave Foley, Kevin McDonald, Bruce McCulloch, Mark McKinney, Scott Thompson) who will receive the Academy Icon Award; director Deepa Mehta, who will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award; and actress Mary Walsh who’ll receive the Earle Grey Award. Walsh is also nominated in the Best Supporting or Guest Actress in a Comedy category for Little Dog.

Canadian actor Stephan James will receive the inaugural Radius Award, which honours a Canadian making waves globally. Toronto-born James, 25, received a 2019 Golden Globe nomination for his role as Walter Cruz in Amazon series Homecoming, has won a Canadian Screen Award for his portrayal of Jesse Owens in the 2016 film Race, and most recently starred in Barry Jenkins’ Golden Globe-nominated, If Beale Street Could Talk. 

In the Television category, nominees for Best Drama Series include Anne With An E (CBC), Frankie Drake Mysteries (CBC), Blood And Water (OMNI), City original Bad Blood, and Vikings (History). Schitt’s Creek (CBC), Workin’ Moms (CBC), Second Jen (City), Mr. D. (CBC), and Letterkenny (Crave) are nominated for Best Comedy Series. Russell Peters’ vehicle The Indian Detective (CTV), Cardinal: Blackfly Season (CTV), Second Opinion (Crave) and CBC drama Caught got nods for Best Limited Series or Program.

Breakfast Television Toronto

The Best News and Information Series nominees include W5, CBC News: Marketplace, ATPN Investigates, and The Fifth Estate. Global National, CBC News: The National, and CTV National News with Lisa LaFlamme are in competition for Best National Newscast, while in the Best Local Newscast category, City News Toronto, CBC Toronto News at Six, CTV Vancouver News at 6, and CTV News Toronto at 6 are nominated. Competing for Best Talk or Entertainment Program or Series are The Marilyn Denis Show, The Social, Breakfast Television Toronto, and CBC’s The Filmmakers. Find the nominees for selected media categories like Best Local Reporter, Best Host or Interviewer In a News or Information Program and Best Sports Host below.

In the Digital category, Best Cross-Platform Project nominees include Eaglevision’s companion content to the television series Taken that encompasses interactive quizzes, a web series dedicated to safety, and content in both English and Cree. CBC News’ Deadly Force project also earned a nomination. The six-month investigation into fatal police encounters saw the first-ever country-wide, interactive database assembled of every person who died or was killed during a police intervention over a 17-year period.

All five Best Motion Picture nominees are French-language features. They include Chien de GardeTelefilm’s choice to represent Canada in this year’s Oscar race; Une Colonie; La Grande Noirceur; Genese; and Dans La Brume.

Find the full list of 2019 Canadian Screen Awards nominees here.

The Awards will be presented over six days during Canadian Screen Week, including the Canadian Screen Awards: Broadcast Gala, live on CBC and the CBC Gem streaming service on Sunday, Mar. 31 at 8 p.m. (9 p.m. AT/ 9:30 p.m. NT).

Tamara Cherry

Best Local Reporter
Simon Nakonechny, CBC Montreal
Paul Withers, CBC Nova Scotia
Mike Crawley, CBC Toronto
Katie Nicholson, CBC Manitoba

Tamara Cherry, CTV News Toronto

Best National Reporter
Margaret Evans, CBC News: The National – Zimbabwe at a Crossroads
Nahlah Ayed, CBC News: The National – Rohingya Muslim Crisis
Paul HunterCBC News: The National – Texas Church Shooting
Erica Johnson, CBC News: The NationalGo Public: Telling on Telcos
Daniele HamamdjianCTV National News With Lisa LaFlamme – Rohingya Crisis


Tracy Moore

Best Host in a Program or Series
Tracy Moore, Cityline, City 
David Rocco, David Rocco’s Dolce AfricaTLN Telelatino
Drew Scott & Jonathan Silver Scott, Property BrothersHGTV
Jonny Harris, Still Standing,
Cynthia Loyst, Melissa Grelo, Marci Ien, Elaine Lui, Jessica Allen, The Social, CTV 

Best Host in a Live Program or Series
Dina Pugliese, Breakfast Television Toronto, City 
Rick Mercer, New Year’s Eve 2017, CBC
Michael Buble, The JUNO Awards, CBC 
Cynthia Loyst, Melissa Grelo, Marci Ien, Elaine Lui, Jessica Allen, The Social, CTV

Best Host or Interviewer in a News or Information Program or Series
Asha Tomlinson, CBC News: Marketplace – Fake Degrees 
Rosemary Barton, CBC News: The National
Adrienne Arsenault, CBC News: The Royal Wedding: Harry & Meghan
Wendy Mesley, CBC News: The Weekly with Wendy Mesley
Steve Paikin, The Agenda with Steve Paikin, TVO

Best Host, Web Program or Series
Lainey Lui, Danielle Graham, Etalk Live: The Oscars Balcony (Bell Media)
Yvette Lu, House Call with Dr. Yvette Lu (Super Creative Corporation)
Dan Hayes, Moosemeat & Marmalade Interactive – Food For Thought (Mooswa Films / Denman Digital)
Scott McGillivray, Scott’s House Call (McGillivray Group)
Dave Keyston, Small Talk (Canoodle Content)

Dwight Drummond

Best News Anchor, Local
Debra Arbec, CBC Montreal News at 6
Tom Murphy, Amy Smith, CBC Nova Scotia News 
Dwight Drummond, CBC Toronto News at Six, CBC
Ken Shaw, CTV News Toronto at 6
Michelle Dube, CTV News Toronto at 6

Best News Anchor, National
Heather Hiscox, CBC News: Morning Live with Heather Hiscox
Ian Hanomansing, Adrienne Arsenault, Rosemary Barton, Andrew Chang, CBC News: The National
Lisa LaFlamme, CTV National News With Lisa LaFlamme
Dawna Friesen, Global National

Luke Wileman

Best Sports Host
Andi Petrillo, 2018 PyeongChang Olympic Winter Games on CBC
Luke Wileman, FIFA World Cup Final Pre-Game, TSN
James Duthie, Free Agent Frenzy, TSN 
Ron Maclean, Hockey Night in Canada, Sportsnet 

Best Sports Play-by-Play Announcer
Chris Cuthbert, 2017 Grey Cup, TSN 
Luke Wileman, 2017 MLS Cup, TSN 
Gord Miller, 2018 IIHF World Junior Gold Medal Game, TSN 
Jim Hughson, Hockey Night in Canada, Sportsnet 

Best Sports Analyst
Ray Ferraro, 2018 IIHF World Junior Gold Medal Game, TSN 
Cassie Campbell, 2018 PyeongChang Olympic Winter Games Men’s/Women’s Hockey & Called Men/Women and Women’s Gold Game, CBC
Eliotte Friedman, Hockey Night in Canada, Sportsnet
Jack Armstrong, Raptors Basketball on TSN

Connie Thiessen
Connie Thiessen
Connie has worked coast-to-coast as a reporter, editor, anchor and host at CKNW and News 1130 in Vancouver, News 95.7 and CBC in Halifax, and CFCW Edmonton, among other stations. With a passion for music, film and community service, she led News 95.7 to a 2013 Atlantic Journalism Award and regional RTDNA award for Best Radio Newscast. More recently, she was nominated for Music Journalist of the Year at Canadian Music Week 2019. To report a typo or error please email -

The Weekly Briefing - Subscribe Now – Free!

It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Events / Conferences