CBC named as Canadian Premier League broadcast partner

CBC Sports has announced that it will carry live coverage of 20 games of the inaugural season of Canada’s new tier-one men’s professional soccer league, the Canadian Premier League (CPL).

The partnership with MEDIAPRO Canada will see CBC become the exclusive television broadcaster  for 10 CPL games. An additional 10 games will be available via free live streaming coverage at cbcsports.ca, the CBC Gem streaming service, and via the CBC Sports appAll games will be produced by MEDIAPRO.

The first game under the partnership will stream at 1 p.m. ET (10 a.m. PT) on Saturday, Apr. 27 from Hamilton as Forge FC (Hamilton) hosts Ontario rivals York9 FC (York Region).

CBC Sports’ Scott Russell and Andi Petrillo will host CBC’s coverage of the broadcast games. Commentary will be provided by soccer broadcaster Gareth Wheeler and retired midfielder and analyst Terry Dunfield, also the lead on-air team for MEDIAPRO’s streaming service, OneSoccer. CBC Sports’ resident soccer expert, Nigel Reed, will provide additional editorial coverage online. CBC Sports will also offer Canadian Premier League videos, player profiles and highlight shows across its platforms.

CPL’s inaugural season sees the seven founding clubs – Pacific FC (Vancouver Island), FC Edmonton, Cavalry FC (Calgary), Valour FC (Winnipeg), Forge FC (Hamilton), York9 FC (York Region, Ontario), and HFX Wanderers FC (Halifax) – square off over two distinct halves to crown winners that will advance to the 2019 Canadian Premier League Championship. The Spring season will run from Apr. 27 to July 1, where the first of two winners will be crowned. The Fall season begins July 6, running until Oct. 19.  

CPL live broadcast coverage on CBC and CBC Gem 

·Saturday, April 27 at 1 p.m. ET (10 a.m. PT)                           York9 FC (York Region) at Forge FC (Hamilton)

·Sunday, May 12 at 1 p.m. ET (10 a.m. PT)                               Cavalry FC (Calgary) at Forge FC  (Hamilton)

·Saturday, May 25 at 4 p.m. ET (1 p.m. PT)                              Forge FC (Hamilton) at York9 FC (York Region)

·Saturday, June 1 at 2 p.m. ET (11 a.m. PT)                             Pacific FC (Vancouver Island) at HFX Wanderers FC (Halifax)

·Saturday, June 15 at 12 p.m. ET (9 a.m. PT)                           Pacific FC (Vancouver Island) at York9 FC (York Region)

·Saturday, July 27 at 1 p.m. ET (10 a.m. PT)                            Cavalry FC (Calgary) at Valour FC (Winnipeg)

·Saturday, August 10 at 1 p.m. ET (10 a.m. PT)                       Cavalry FC (Calgary) at HFX Wanderers FC (Halifax)

·Saturday, September 14 at 3 p.m. ET (12 p.m. PT)                 FC Edmonton at Pacific FC (Vancouver Island)

·Saturday, September 21 at 1 p.m. ET (10 a.m. PT)                 Valour FC (Winnipeg) at HFX Wanderers FC (Halifax)

·Saturday, October 19 at 4 p.m. ET (1 p.m. PT)                        FC Edmonton (Edmonton) at Cavalry FC (Calgary) 

 

CPL live streaming coverage on cbcsports.ca, CBC Gem and the CBC Sports app

·Saturday, May 4 at 1 p.m. ET (10 a.m. PT)                              Forge FC (Hamilton) at HFX Wanderers FC (Halifax)

·Saturday, May 18 at 3:30 p.m. ET (12:30 p.m. PT)                  York9 FC (York Region) at Pacific FC (Vancouver Island)

·Saturday, June 22 at 3:30 p.m. ET (12:30 p.m. PT)                 HFX Wanderers FC (Halifax) at York9 FC (York Region)

·Saturday, July 6 at 1 p.m. ET (10 a.m. PT)                               FC Edmonton (Edmonton) at Forge FC (Hamilton)

·         Saturday, July 13 at 3:30 p.m. ET (12:30 p.m. PT)                  Cavalry FC (Calgary) at HFX Wanderers FC (Halifax)

·Saturday, July 20 at 3:30 p.m. ET (12:30 p.m. PT)                  Valour FC (Winnipeg) at Forge FC (Hamilton)

·Saturday, August 17 at 3:30 p.m. ET (12:30 p.m. PT)              Pacific FC (Vancouver Island) at York9 FC (York Region)

·Saturday, August 24 at 6 p.m. ET (3 p.m. PT)                          Valour FC (Winnipeg) at Pacific FC (Vancouver Island)

·Saturday, September 28 at 1 p.m. ET (10 a.m. PT)                 FC Edmonton (Edmonton) at HFX Wanderers FC (Halifax)

·Saturday, October 5 at 3:30 p.m. ET (12:30 p.m. PT)              Valour FC (Winnipeg) at HFX Wanderers FC (Halifax)

 


Subscribe Now – Free!

Broadcast Dialogue has been required reading in the Canadian broadcast media for 25 years. When you subscribe, you join a community of connected professionals from media and broadcast related sectors from across the country.

The Weekly Briefing from Broadcast Dialogue is delivered exclusively to subscribers by email every Thursday. It’s your link to critical industry news, timely people moves, and excellent career advancement opportunities.

Let’s get started right now.